Anyone seen this before?
It popped up when I followed a link from a comment left on this blog. Firefox would not let me see the site, not even view source. I have to say, it’s a great way to protect users from potential phishing, scamming and malware.
Not this nosy blogger, though. Something didn’t sit right, so I used wget and peeked at the source. Seems benign to me. The post references my talk about read consistency databases, CouchDB and Google AppEngine. Doesn’t look like the dumb stuff you find on spam/scam blogs (and I get a lot of these trackbacks).
Firefox suggest the site is marked as malware by Google. Indeed, a search on the author name returned 95 links to that blog, all of which are marked with:
This site may harm your computer.
A LinkedIn search finds the author is a Senior Programmer at IBM. So I opened the blog in Safari and started reading. JSON this, Atom that, OpenID, Java, comments and good technical discussion all around. Actually a good blog all around, nothing malicious.
I don’t know what tripped the Google Homeland Security system, but I see no evidence of foul play, just a false positive.
I contacted the author, let’s see what comes out of this.
Update: Turns out this is a known problem:
Currently, many sites that are the subject of Google’s warnings have been the victims of a malicious hacking attack, in which code linking directly to badware through exploits was inserted onto an otherwise innocent, but poorly secured, website. In other cases, a website with no intention to distribute badware hosts content (such as ads or hit counters) provided by a third party, and can inadvertently distribute badware through that content. If you are confused about why your site has a Google warning, then there are strong odds that your site has experienced one of the above situations.
At the very least they do attempt to made contact:
Google makes a good faith effort to contact the owners and administrators of sites with Google search warnings. Google sends emails to potential site owner addresses such as webmaster@domain.com Google also notifies site owners with Webmaster Tools accounts.
Update 2: This is getting better. AutoWorld is now blocked for the very same reason (I’m researching my next car).
